Blog Post

Insight: What’s New in Utah’s Census 2020 Geography?

By Natalie Young

Note: The opinions expressed are those of the author alone and do not reflect an institutional position of the Gardner Institute. We hope the opinions shared contribute to the marketplace of ideas and help people as they formulate their own INFORMED DECISIONS™.

Last month, we blogged about the Census Bureau’s release of census 2020 geographic boundary data. Today we release “What’s New in Utah’s Census 2020 Geography?,” a fact sheet discussing geographic changes in greater depth. To our knowledge, this is the very first analysis of Utah’s census geography for any decennial census. For those who are new to census geographies or want a review, this fact sheet also includes a primer on census tracts, blocks, etc.

Some key geographic changes from census 2010 to census 2020 include:

  • Utah has 11 newly incorporated places.
  • Seven of the new incorporations were in Salt Lake County:
    • Brighton (town)
    • Millcreek (city)
    • Five metro townships: Copperton, Emigration Canyon, Kearns, Magna, and White City
    • Millcreek and the townships each incorporated in 2016, while Brighton incorporated in 2019.
  • The four other new incorporations all became towns:
    • Dutch John (Daggett County, 2015)
    • Interlaken (Wasatch County, 2015)
    • Cedar Highlands (Iron County, 2017)
    • Bluff (San Juan County, 2018)
  • Utah has five new census-designated places (CDPs), which are unincorporated areas: East Basin (Summit County), Hobble Creek and Sundance (Utah County), Lapoint (Uintah County), and Modena (Iron County).
  • 235 new census tracts were formed across the state, replacing 107 tracts from census 2010 (a net increase of 128 more tracts this decade).
  • St. George and Provo led the way with 12 and 11 new tracts. Other places with high num